T minus 30 / beauty

Today’s photo challenge

Beauty is all around us. Make a photo of some naturally occurring beauty in your area today.

DSCN2445

Consider the lilies

Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 28If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you, O you of little faith! (Lk 12:27-28)

I took this in the gardens (lying flat on the ground) in the Victoria & Albert museum in the heart of London. What you don’t see is that this lily (along with two others) were amidst a whole blanket of other plants and bushes – almost hidden yet so beautiful.

My trusty little Nikon has a micro feature. I don’t use it much but was really pleased with this one!

This entry was posted in macro, urban. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T minus 30 / beauty

  1. eija says:

    Lorna this is really beautiful :)

    FYI – Lesson in photography: “Micro” photography uses magnifying ratio of greater than 1:1 and needs a very special, very expensive lense. “Macro” is at least 1:1. Anything less than that is actually “close-up” at the most, not macro. However, the close-up feature in pocket cameras is misleadingly called a “macro”. Just to let you and everyone else know :)

    IF you would use photo editing to enhance your photos this one would benefit if you’d boost the light a bit – it’s slightly underexposed. But you’r Nikon has performed very well and I like the composition a lot, too. Good job!

  2. ELE says:

    I’ve now looked at all the days Lorna, they are an great idea and I look forward to some inspirational work from you, Anja, and hopefully many others.

    This Picture of Lilies struck me particularly when you showed it to me today. That you should pick Lilies seems so strange. In the Ward this morning another Patient came up to me and started talking about Lilies finishing with the text you have chosen. I met with you to be shown the selected blog and return to the ward to find my fellow patient having found the relevant text in the Good News Bible she borrowed from the Hospital Chaplaincy.

Comments are closed.