T minus 17 /hard light

Sunday 15th

Make a photograph using hard light today. Feature the crisp and strong shadows as a major element of your photograph

shadows self-portrait

Wisdom (knowledge of God) will save you
from [those]who leave the straight paths
to walk in dark ways
[and] who delight in doing wrong (Prov 2:12-14)

I was quite excited by today’s challenge, but it wasn’t as easy as I thought to execute a good photo. That’s because while it’s been hot – very hot and very humid – today, it has also been quite overcast and I really really didn’t want to use artificial light! That meant that when the sun did finally (and briefly) peak through the clouds this shot was taken in quite a hurry.

What I noticed when putting the photo onto the computer was the narrow way of light ahead of me, with shadows and darkness to the right and a precipice (albeit a small one as this is in our back garden!) to the left. Hence the scripture above.

The narrow path ahead of me also reminded me that Jesus said “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me” (Jn 14:16)

This entry was posted in at home, portrait. Bookmark the permalink.