T minus 16 / plants

Monday 16th

Make a photograph of a plant today. It can be a small one in a pot, a big one in the park, or a tree in a forest.

oaks of righteousnessoaks of righteousness

The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners,
to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor
and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,
and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness
instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
a planting of the LORD
for the display of his splendor.
(Isaiah 61:1-3)

I had a lot of troubles with today’s shot, and am not really satisfied with the result even now. But the rule is take the photo today and post today … so what you see is what you get!

The acorns above are on a tree that my husband and I planted in our front yard when we first moved in the house we had built. That was about fifteen years ago. The oak was rather a small sapling and we really weren’tsure it would survive particularly as the soil at the front of the house is not that great. But it survived the first winter (no mean feat in Finland!) and grew well.Then it was attacked somehow and the top of the main trunk died. But our little oak was a survivor and a secondary branch took over. That means it’s lopsided now and more like a bush than a tree. But it’s healthy and we love it.A couple of years ago we noticed it had produced a couple of immature acorns. That was exciting in itself, but this year the acorns are very mature and there are about twenty of them. I like to think that we planted the tree as an act of faith and yes as a display of His splendor.

These verses from Isaiah are among my favourite in the Old Testament!

Oh and btw I didn’t notice the ant and his friends (at all!) until I started fiddling with the picture on the pc!!!

This entry was posted in at home, flowers trees etc, urban. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T minus 16 / plants

  1. eija says:

    Oaks of righteousness were in my mind, too, but then I ended up posting something totally different :)

    I’ve always loved oaks, maybe the most of all trees. Well the birch is probably the most beautiful but oaks… they’ve always had a special place in my heart, already before I knew anything about the oaks of righteousness.

    I remember my grandmom’s house in Helsinki, Meilahti… It’s an old house, now an object of protection. But behind it there was a huge oak that dropped its acorns on the back deck where I used to collect them as a small kid :)

  2. sinikka says:

    Surprised to find out that you are doing this as well! It’s fun, isn’t it? But requires a certain routine, and sometimes I have been really struggling to keep up with posting daily. I have also chosen to post two pictures every day – the Daily Shoot, and then another one for my 365 blog (sometimes I’ve used the same one for both though, if inspiration has totally eluded me).

    I really liked reading the story of your oak tree! And funny enough, without knowing about you, I too had taken http://www.flickr.com/photos/rosipaw/4898485882/ a photo of acorns today, although chose different ones as my daily pictures. I like your picture, too. Your acorns seem to be slightly greener than ours, or maybe it’s just the lighting.

Comments are closed.