T minus 15 / signs

Tuesday 17th

Make a photograph that features a sign of some sort today.

I wasn’t very keen on today’s suggested assignment from the daily shoot … but then I got thinking, and looking and finally shooting. There are signs everywhere if we but dare to look.

The shot I finally chose was this:

signsFather and Child

I was very lucky. I grew up with a great dad. We did loads of fun things together – museums, boat trips, visiting people, playing in the park. He was – when I became a young adult and it was right for the relationship to change-my best friend, and when he died (more than a decade ago now) it was a devastatingly hard time for me and our family.

Today the pedestrian sign (father and child) reminded me of the precious relationship we had. It also reminded me that as children of God we are called into an ever better relationship with Father God. I am well aware that many people struggle with the term ‘Father’ for Almighty God. Often (but not always) that’s because of having had an abusive (or absentee) relationship with males in the family … particularly dads. That makes me sad. One of the greatest things about being a Christian is knowing that -because of Jesus- I have been adopted into the best family in the world. His! And that relationship goes on and on and on ….

Paul puts it like this

This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?” God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children. And we know we are going to get what’s coming to us—an unbelievable inheritance!

(Rom 8:14-16 Msg)

This entry was posted in this & that, urban. Bookmark the permalink.