11/365:bottles

Saturday September 11th

Make a photo of a bottle or grouping of bottles today.

perfumesCostly perfume

A woman came up to Jesus as he was eating dinner and anointed him with a bottle of very expensive perfume. (Mt 26:6)

Whenever I hear that story from Matthew’s Gospel I can’t help thinking that as the woman broke open the bottle of perfume  its fragrance must have filled the room and touched everybody there.

What’s more her act was an act of total commitment, of abandoned worship, and breaking that bottle, and kneeling before Jesus, washing His feet with her tears and wiping them with her hair (Luke 7:36-50) cost her all she had: her security for the future (her dowry), her reputation and quite possibly all her dreams and hopes too.  I want my worship to be like that.

BTW I don’t use perfume. These bottles aren’t mine, but I do like them.

This entry was posted in at home, this & that, water. Bookmark the permalink.