38/365:vertical view

Friday October 8th

Make a photograph today of an interesting subject with as vertical or high a point of view as you can manage.

stairs downward spiral

A day late. I couldn’t get to the library yesterday and to be honest this photo didn’t come out at all as I had visualised it in my mind.

Paul wrote to the Romans of his own downward spiral.

“If the power of sin within me keeps sabotaging my best intentions, I obviously need help! I realize that I don’t have what it takes. I can will it, but I can’t do it. I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time.”

On its own that would be so depressing wouldn’t it? But it’s not the end of the story. Romans 8 follows Romans 7 !

A new power is in operation. The Spirit of life in Christ, like a strong wind, has magnificently cleared the air, freeing you from a fated lifetime of brutal tyranny at the hands of sin and death.

My own testimony  – like Paul’s – is that as I’ve been spiralling down towards what could best be described as rock bottom God IS there. And I can trust Him. His Spirit in me, is the power to defeat anything that the evil one can send against me.

This entry was posted in public buildings. Bookmark the permalink.