98/365:doors

Friday December 31st (New Year’s Eve)

My friend set this challenge:

Doors can have a lot of character, be it in the hinges, knob, or  style. Make a photo of a door you pass through today.

I love doors! To me they are symbolic of a lot of things – and maybe particularly today of all days doors are symbolic of beginnings and ends. As I read the challenge again, I noticed she’d made a twist in it however – it should be a door I pass through. Mmm – and so earlier today I set off out with the camera to see what doors opened and which ones stayed closed this New Year.

I actually had a lot of fun with this challenge! This was the obvious shot to choose – our front door – and as the metal sign says a warm welcome awaits all our guests. But an unusual door I passed through today, was this one …

opening doorI’m really hoping it wasn’t a prophetic act as it was to a hardware store to buy a snow shovel for TS and his girlfriend! What this doorway said to me about the Kingdom of God, however, is that doors often open unexpectedly, and sometimes (like today) you have to get quite close to the door  to open it – but open it does, IF the timing is right!

This entry was posted in public buildings, this & that. Bookmark the permalink.