165/365:streets of London

Friday 11th March

When in London last week I went to a street photography exhibition over at the museum of London. Fascinating. It also inspired me to try it myself. I took loads of photos of people out and about around London.

When looking for a photo from them to post today (I haven’t taken any as I’ve been sick) I was reminded of the Ralph McTell song from the 70s Streets of London, the refrain of which goes

Let me take you by the hand and lead you through the streets of London
I’ll show you something to make you change your mind

I’d really want to do that with my photos. You see, although the exhibition on Saturday was good, what I’d really expected (in part because it was talked about in the Big Issue) was photos which really captured the men and women of London, including the down and outs, the

the old man
In the closed-down market
Kicking up the paper,
with his worn out shoes?

in Mc Tell’s song, or

the old girl
Who walks the streets of London
Dirt in her hair and her clothes in rags?
She’s no time for talking,
She just keeps right on walking
Carrying her home in two carrier bags.

Maybe that’s an exhibition along the journey … in the meantime I offer you this snap of one gentleman at the bus stop on Whitehall (Trafalgar Square in the background)

on the streets

you can hear the song here (and view some shots of people and places in London)

This entry was posted in London, street photography. Bookmark the permalink.