226. Not on my watch

I have posted watchmen on your walls, O Jerusalem;
they will never be silent day or night.
You who call on the Lord,
give yourselves no rest,
and give him no rest till he establishes Jerusalem
and makes her the praise of the earth. (Isa 62:6-7)

(Taken at Samppalinna swimming pool midday today)

As I swam today I couldn’t help reflect on the fact that the lifeguards in Finland operate quite differently to the UK. In Matlock, Derbyshire (where I swam all this academic year) there was always a lifeguard in the hotspot and they changed every 30 minutes. That is common practice throughout the UK. In Finland, however, there are more lifeguards on duty but it’s rare to see them up in the chair. I think there’s something to learn from both ways of being alert and watching and guarding …also spiritually.

This entry was posted in Turku. Bookmark the permalink.