2014/2: waiting

I love the turquoise colour of these chairs in the waiting area at the local swimming centre. My trusty swim bag sitting patiently on the seat bears a badge of distinction – the mark of 2011 when Turku was the European Capital of Culture. It’s been on there for almost four years now, as I was given it midway through 2010 the year of preparation.

Expectancy

I am not the world’s best at waiting, I must admit. I dislike queues of all sorts (banks, supermarkets, doctors, traffic jams are all equally frustrating) but there is one kind of waiting that is quite different – that of expectant waiting, waiting with anticipation. For the birth of a child, for a special celebration. Deep down I’ve been waiting for 2014 with that kind of expectation … and the story is about to begin to unfold.

…they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary;  they shall walk and not faint.

(Isaiah 40:31, a favourite scripture of mine)

This entry was posted in signs, Turku. Bookmark the permalink.