preparing to fly … north!

Most owls do not migrate but they can be nomadic in searching for the best food source

I like the idea of being nomadic – there’s something so freeing about it (at least in theory).
Of course I’ve never truly been nomadic, although as a child people used to say I had ‘itchy feet’ because of my burning desire to go to new places and have different experiences. That hasn’t changed. I’m still without a good smart phone because as soon as I have saved almost enough money for one (I’d like to buy a fairphone) I blow the money on another ticket!

I never really been one for putting down roots even where I live – at least not deeply. A friend of mine was heart-broken a few years ago when she had to leave her home. They had built their house at exactly the same time as we had – almost 20 years ago – and as she spoke and as I listened I recognised the reality that the ‘flitting’ was very much harder for her than it would be for me.

Most owls do not migrate, but they can be nomadic – on the move, in search of food, shelter and perhaps other things. Who knows?

This weekend this owl is on the move – a trip up north for a new experience (the opera- Puccini’s La Boheme!) and a chance to catch up with some good friends en route and at the performance too. I’ve loved the preparation – the planning it, and also the anticipation. And now the adventure begins …

Most owls do not migrate. But some species – notably the lovely fascinating snowy owl – have regular ‘irruptions’.

An irruption is a dramatic, irregular migration of large numbers of a species to areas where they aren’t typically found, possibly at a great distance from their normal ranges. … Mostly the irruptions for the snowy owl and other species are because their food supply is scarce and they are at risk of starvation.  However,

unduly harsh cold or severe weather that may force birds to find more temperate wintering grounds

This owl can relate to that!

This entry was posted in 2016 the owl. Bookmark the permalink.