owls and the dark

Most owls are nocturnal – though many prefer the periods of dawn and dusk as these are the best times for hunting down prey.

This owl, however, does not like the dark; and while November this year started off very promising with a cold sharp spell that brought snow and a fabulous super moon, the rains came and with it that feeling of gloom and doom.

So what’s an owl to do?

Like every other time of adversity, we are programmed to fight or flight. My preference would be flight – joining the flocks of birds in their annual migration is so appealing – and in previous years the promise and anticipation of a trip south has helped beat the blues into submission.  This year however, flight is not an option, and so I’ve resorted to the tried and tested fightback modus operandi: vitamin D, my ‘loony lamp’ aka light therapy lamp, and time out in the natural light wherever possible (supplemented by swimming) is the most important of all.

These tried and tested remedies do help, -a lot! – but they aren’t a cure for SAD,  and as the dark presses in the biggest fight for me is sleep! For reasons that I cannot begin to fathom, this time of year when I have the least energy and almost zero creativity – is often a period when I succumb to insomnia and struggle to get to sleep. It’s a vicious cycle.
I find it difficult to get up in the mornings during the dark months, (I expect most of us do!) That is exacerbated because of my difficulties in falling asleep and that leads to me functioning less and less well (in all areas of my life, including work, home and relationships) and becoming increasingly fatigued.

What is an owl to do?I’m not sure.

insomniac-owlBut I found this image that made me smile at least!

This entry was posted in 2016 the owl, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.